Chicken Makhtoum

My friend Noor over at Ya Salaam Cooking has a wonderful collection of tasty recipes available, MashaAllah.

A few weeks ago I tried her recipe for Chicken Makhtoum and let me tell you it is delicious!  I have cooked it at least twice already and my DH just loves the taste of it and this is what I am making for lunch today.

I double this recipe (it doubles very easily) whenever I make it because of my big family, MashaAllah.  I have made a few tweaks here in my version…I sauteed the tomatoes and added frozen garden peas for a little bit of color and also decreased the amount of tomato paste because my DH is not too keen about tomato paste.

I served this delicious chicken dish with Indian Vegetable Rice (recipe to follow in the next post).

Chicken Makhtoum (adapted from Ya Salaam Cooking)

2 medium-sized tomatoes, chopped

1 tablespoon corn oil

1/2 cup onion, diced

1 cup of yogurt

1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon tomato paste

1 tablespoon Arabic spice mix

2 tablespoons corn oil

700 gram  whole chicken, cut up into 4 pieces

1 cup of frozen garden peas

In a medium frying pan, saute the chopped tomatoes in 1 tablespoon of corn oil until mushy.

In a blender, add the sauteed tomatoes, onions, yogurt, salt, Arabian spice mix, and tomato paste and blend until smooth.

In a large pot, add the remaining 2 tablespoons of corn oil and once it is hot add the chicken pieces and fry until golden brown.

Add the yogurt mix.  Cook on medium heat for 10 minutes and reduce the heat to low.

Add the frozen garden peas, gently stir in and then cover and let cook for about 20 minutes or until the chicken is no longer pink.

Serve with basmati rice or nice and hot parathas.  Enjoy!

And Noor is right, this recipe would be really delicious if you substituted lamb or shrimp for the chicken.

8 responses to “Chicken Makhtoum

  1. I’ve been wanting to see the pictures of your lovely recipe but it seems like its missing, all I can see is the photobucket image error

  2. I think I fixed the picture problem. Are you able to see the photos now? Thank you so much for letting me know 🙂

  3. MashAllah sis it looks great.

  4. Is the Arabic spice mix sold as such, or it is a blend of spices that you combine yourself? If so, which ones do you use and how much of each?

  5. Hello Kris,

    I will usually buy a pre-made spice mix. If you are in the UAE you will find some in your local co-op store or at a flour and spice mill. If you would like to make your own you can try this mix found at this site: http://www.fahad.com/Dishes/Spices/bezar.html

    Thank you for stopping by and please come visit again 🙂

  6. salam

    masha`allah this looks wonderful and so easy … im living in algeria … what spice can i use instead of arabic spice or could you tell me whats in the spice maybe i can make it myself

    jazak`allah khair

  7. Umm Imran: sorry for being late to reply. You can use the Indian spice mix called Garam Masala or you can use this spice mix combo: 1 tsp curry powder, 1 tsp cumin powder, 1 tsp tumeric, 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground cardamon, 1/4 tsp Kashmiri (red) chili powder. InshaAllah this works well for you.

  8. oh thank you so much for the reply … this is the type of food we eat in my house ….so i`m looking forward to making it ….jazak`allah khair

Leave a Reply

