Tortillas

Nothing is good as homemade tortillas. They are so soft and so good to eat right off the stove smothered with butter.  Yummy!

Tortillas

4 cups white flour
2 teaspoons salt
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup of oil or shortening
1 1/2 cups ice cold water

In a very large bowl, add all of the dry ingredients together. Use a large whisk to mix all of the ingredients.

Add the oil or the shortening to the flour mix. Use the whisk or a pastry cutter to incorporate the oil into the flour. The flour will start to look like crumbs.

Add 1 cup of the ice cold water to the flour mixture.  Stir with a wooden spoon.  Add the remaining water 1 tablespoon at a time until you get a nice workable dough ball.  Knead the dough ball.  If it is sticky just add a bit of flour and knead some more until all the flour has been mixed in. If the mixture is too dry, wet your hands and slowly knead the dough. (I always use 1 1/2 cups of water but some days the weather will be humid or it will be raining and I will have to adjust the flour or add a tiny bit of water).

The dough ball won’t be smooth.  It will be a little rough-looking.

Let the dough sit for at least ten minutes.

Now break off pieces of dough that are about the size of a golf ball. You should 24 (more or less) tortilla balls.

On a clean and lighly floured surface, sprinkle a little bit of flour on top

Roll out each ball with a rolling pin.

My little tortilla ball with my Daiso head-knocker (aka Japanese Rolling Pin!)

I find that rolling once and turning the tortilla a one-quarter turn after each rolling will result in a circular tortilla. Practice makes perfect! My tortillas used to be shaped like the state of Texas! Keep rolling the tortilla out until it is about 6 inches in diameter.

As you roll out each tortilla, set them on a large rectangular tray slightly overlapping. I roll out all of the tortillas first and then cook them.

On medium heat, use a large, ungreased cast iron skillet, non stick pan, or any other thick bottomed pan to cook your tortillas.

This is my thick cast iron "tala" on which I cook my tortillas.

Cook the tortilla until it puffs up.

The bottom will have little brown spots.  Turn it over and cook for another minute. Cook all the tortillas this way.

Keep the cooked tortillas in a hot pot or basket and lined with a clean tea towel and then cover keep warm.

Enjoy!

7 responses to “Tortillas

  1. Would you belive it ,i just make some yesterday now all gone .There a old emirati recipe that you can do with
    tortilla dough not sure people have try it. it the salona(soup) and you add the small patty torilla dough into the
    salona(soup) and you layer it with veggy of the salona until the dough get done and soup have little juice,
    it kind of taste like macaroni. for got the name of it of ricipe..

  2. I believe it, LOL, Whenever I make tortillas the kiddos love to eat it all warm right off of the stove. I never heard of the recipe you are writing about but it does sound delicious. Pasta is basically the same thing as tortilla dough, right? I think that I will try this, InshaAllah. I will let you know how it came out, InshaAllah. Thank you for sharing with me!

  3. I though the same thing ,But pasta is make s with egg also you can add,i guess back caveman day there was no pasta here. lol
    One of most i miss from back home(Arizona) is tortillas from family member plus mexican food.

  4. yumm! Thanks for this recipe! I know i will use it considering everywhere ive bought totillas from in uae they were SO expensive!

  5. I just moved to Abu Dhabi from London, though I’m Mexican-American. I am so glad to have found your blog. I have no experience with traditional Emirati cuisine, and seeing the tortilla recipe (though I prefer corn myself!) made me very homesick. 🙂

    I will def. be following from now on!

  6. I hope that you are enjoying your recent move to the UAE 🙂

    I prefer corn tortillas as well but I do not have any access to Masa Harina 😦

    Thank you for your lovely comment.

  7. LOL, they are not only expensive but all rubbery 😛 and anyway nothing beats homemade 🙂

Leave a Reply

