How to Cook Short Grain Rice

I have a little secret to share with you on how to cook short grain rice without it being sticky.  In the US, Calrose Rice is a brand that sells short grain rice.  Here in the UAE short grain rice is also known as Egyptian Rice or Rice Misri.

The most important thing about cooking the rice this way is that you have to be patient for just about 5 minutes. That is just part of my secret.  The other part is that you will be lightly stir-frying the rice in a bit of oil to cook away that starchiness that makes the rice sticky.

The following recipe can easily be doubled, tripled, quadrupled, etc.

Here are the ingredients you will need:

1 cup of uncooked short grain rice (Egyptian Rice)

1 tablespoon cooking oil

1 ½ cups of boiling water

Salt to taste (optional…I don’t like to add it)

In a medium-sized saucepan heat the cooking oil and add the uncooked rice.

I used a wok in this picture.

Gently stir the rice so that each grain will be coated with the oil.

Turn the heat to medium.

Now for the next 5 minutes (a little more or little less) you will have to stand at the stove and gently stir that rice (preferably with a wooden spoon) until it turns from its original opaque color to where the grains look like tiny pearls.  If you want you can also stir-fry the rice until the grains are a golden color.

Note:

  • You have to be very careful not to let the rice burn because it will, very quickly, if left unstirred or the flame/heat is too high!
  • Be careful of stirring too vigorously because those rice grains will fly and they are hot if they land on your foot!

Once the grains of rice have turned color (it is very noticeable) then you will add the boiling water.  Be careful when adding the boiling water because it will splutter wildly. Put the top on the pot and reduce the heat to very low.

Cook the rice for 17 minutes.  Remove from heat and fluff with a fork.

And there you have it…short-grain rice that is light and fluffy and not sticky!

(I’ll will post a picture of the finished product soon, InshaAllah.  I just forgot to take a picture of it.)

9 responses to “How to Cook Short Grain Rice

  1. we add, for the better taste, half of onion (raw) with some cloves.
    yes, it may sound weird, but the taste is very good.
    and I was taught to prepare short grain rice by very similar way.
    when I asked my grandma why onion and cloves, she told me that those spices are added for the health compensation, that it would complete rice…

  2. I do this sometimes but just fry the onions. I also add cloves for the flavor as well as cinnamon, peppercorns, and whole cardamon. It is delicious 🙂

  3. This is the way my mom and my grandmother (both Mexican) taught me to cook rice. I have always just poured room temp (instead of boiling) water over the rice and it has also worked fine. Oh and I also use a 2 to 1 ration of water to rice. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I made this rice recipe tonight for my DH. He loved it! I hope you will come back and post more on your blog. I have enjoyed your recipes. I added one clove to the oil before the rice and the flavor was unbelievable! Cheers!!

  5. Hi Lemon! Sorry for the late reply. Thank you taking the time to comment that you did try cooking the rice this way. I am glad you tried it with the clove and that it turned out nice!

  6. Your receipe sounds delicious; I have believed that rice produces 3x the amount of dried rice you start with; any method to achieve this yield with short grain white rice?

  7. Wow, this method works really well. It really can make sticky rice nice and fluffy. I’m an American living in Japan, where it’s really hard getting regular rice. Short grained sticky rice is great for sushi and ‘dons’, but not much else, and certainly bring able to make it lighter and fullfier is so very much appreciated. Thanks so much for posting this!

    Mike P.

  8. Thank you so much!
    My first attempt at cooking Egyptian rice was a disaster (extremely sticky). I found out the reason: I did not fry the rice enough and I also added 1/2 cup of water more than you.
    Now that the rice turned out right I can appreciate its unique taste. 😀

  9. That’s great! Thanks for letting me know 😊

Leave a Reply

