Spice Mixture using Loomi Aswad

Here is a spice mixture that I have made and have been using now for about 12 years. It is excellent rubbed on chicken, beef and lamb roast and broiled salmon. After applying the spice mixture, it is best if you roast the meat, chicken, or fish.

Here’s the recipe. The quantities I give can easily be doubled or tripled and can be kept in an airtight container in the fridge for another time.

1 tablespoon ground loomi aswad (ground black lemon powder)

1 tablespoon ground cumin

1 tablespoon of Garlic and Herb Seasoning (or you can use finely ground Oregano powder)

2 tablespoons Mexican Chili Seasoning

2-3 cloves of garlic, grated (or 1 teaspoon garlic powder)

1 1/2 to 2 teaspoons salt

3 tabespoons extra-virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon vinegar or the juice of half a lemon

Mix all the ingredients together and you will have a nice thick paste.

You can now use this to rub on your chicken, beef, lamb, or salmon.

7 responses to “Spice Mixture using Loomi Aswad

  1. I love your blog! youve saved me in time for ramadan…i was looking for balaleet recipes and came across your blog and what do i see? american emirati with a hungry family, like me! amazing…im going to be trying some of your recipes very soon! i hope you come back to blogging soon, i see youve not posted in a very long time!Thanks for the recipes!

  2. Asalam Alaykum and Ramadan Mubarak. I really like your blog you should check mine out as well :).. Talk to you soon I hope..

  3. Thank you Noora and Noor for your comments and for stopping by.

  4. Umm Mu'awiyyah

    As salaamu alaiki wa rahmatullah

    Barak Allahu feeki for this recipe. I purchased dried black lemons and could not remember why I purchased them. Go figure! I mean I had a recipe but for them but by the time I found them I couldn’t remember the recipe (LOL).

    Any how, I wanted to try this because it sounded so good. It is now Ramadan in 2011 – 2 years after your post. I didn’t make this recipe exactly (I was too busy lighting up the tanoor). So, I just threw some things together and kept what I remembered from your recipe. I ended up with Black lemon powder, freshly ground black pepper, turmeric, sea salt, olive oil and loads of garlic. Walhamdulillah, I just broke my fast and it was delicious.

    Shukran jazeelun wa barak Allahu feeki lihadha.

  5. Wa Alaikum Salaam Umm Mu’awiyyah, Thank you for coming back and leaving a comment 🙂 MashaAllah your spice combination sounds delicious as well. I will try it on some chicken, InshaAllah.

  6. Reem Shaikh

    lovely spices loveeee ittt will try itt for chicken

  7. I hope that you will like it. It goes great with chicken.

Leave a Reply

