Loomi Aswad – Dried Black Lemon

DSC00038In many of my recipes I use black lemon powder.  This tiny dried lemon is a staple pantry ingredient here in the UAE home.  It is a key lime and is dried out in the sun and then used whole or in powder form in cooking for stews and mitchboos rice dishes. The dried lemon will either be black or brownish in color.  I prefer to use the black lemons.  If you live in the UAE or other Gulf countries then this is called Loomi Aswad and can be bought in either whole or powder form.  If you live in the States, this dried lemon is available whole and can be bought at any Arab supermarket.  When you get home just break a whole bunch of them open and take out the seeds and then grind them in a spice grinder.

4 responses to “Loomi Aswad – Dried Black Lemon

  1. Hello. Someone broughtme black powdered lemon from the Dubai Spice Souk. I’m in the US – any suggestion for a not-terribly challenging recipe I can try it in?

  2. Not sure if you are still looking for a recipe, but I have a simple one you can try…
    I make this in a crockpot before I go to work and it is ready by the time i get home.
    You will need the following ingrediants:
    4 – 6 chicken legs
    1 Medium Onion
    Salt
    Curry
    Olive Oil
    1 dried Black Lemon
    Water
    Put the chicken legs in the crock pot. Cover with water, about 1 inch above the chicken legs. Chop onion and put in crock pot (I like mine cut into strips, about 2 inches long, and 1/4 inch wide). Add salt and curry to your desired taste. Add about 2 tsps of olive oil. Poke a hole in the dried black lemon and put it in the crockpot as well. Let cook. When the chicken starts to fall off the bone, is ready. The dried black lemon is very tastey. I recommend giving a piece to each person eating. Usually, I eat this with a bowl of rice.

    I’ve also subsituted the chicken with 1 pound of beef stew meat.

    Enjoy!

  3. Thank you for providing this interesting recipe 🙂

  4. Look forward to trying this recipe with the dried black lemons and black lemon powder my daughter just brought back from Abu Dhabi and Dubai

Leave a Reply

